Tipp City Rotary news

For the Weekly Record Herald

TIPP CITY — Top student researchers from Tipp City and Bethel Schools presented their award winning projects to Tipp City Rotarians on Wednesday, May 18.

This was the 12th year for the Tippecanoe Science Day Program and the 11th year that Tipp City Rotary provided funding to send students to District Science Day.

This year Tippecanoe together with 20 other schools, including Bethel, sent 118 students, grades 5-12, to the first District No. 1 Science Day held at Edison State Community College on February 27.

Tippecanoe student participation increased this year and their level of achievement was exceptional. Fifty-five students qualified at the District level, then competed at State Science Day last Saturday at The Ohio State University. This included 22 students from Tipp City and three from Bethel. The local students earned 14 Superior ratings and several monetary awards.

This year’s State Science Day Scholars included Savannah Phipps, Lisa Sebastian and Alaina Yarwick, all seventh graders at Bethel. Students from L.T. Ball who competed were Sydney Brown, Emily VonKrosigk, Amelia Campbell, Max Dunaway, Ryan Hartke, Levi Baileys, Isa Ramos, Nicole Strong and Savy Dean. From Tippecanoe Middle School was Brandon Hood. From Tippecanoe High School was Logan Oskey, Leena Vyas, Jessica Miller, Maya Vyas, and from the Class of 2016: Tim Andrews, Adam Buynak (4 yr. award), Thomas Chaney (6 yr. award), Allison Chitwood (6 yr. award), Alexandra Davis, Emily Gootzeit, Jessica Hemmelgarn and Samantha Rowland (6 yr. award).

The Tippecanoe Science Day Program is co-coordinated by Tipp City science teachers Scott Snyder, Janet Barnard and Curtis Earl. Teacher Leslie Mosley coordinated the Bethel program.