Students compete at State Science Day

For the Weekly Record Herald

COLUMBUS — Fifty-five students from 15 local school districts recently competed successfully at the Ohio Academy of Science State Science Day held at The Ohio State University in Columbus on Saturday, May 14.

Approximately 1,200 students from across the state participated in the all day event with a total of one million dollars distributed as scholarships and awards. Students exhibited projects in science, technology, engineering and mathematics which they worked on from last September through February of this year. All of the local students did exceptionally well with twenty-nine receiving superior scores as well as earning a number of special individual awards totaling almost $2,000 and $3,500 in renewable scholarships.

Receiving Superior ratings were: Adam Buynak, Thomas Chaney, Allison Chitwood, Alexandra Davis, Emily Gootzeit, Jessica Hemmelgarn, Jessica Miller, Samantha Rowland, and Leena Vyas of Tippecanoe High School; Brandon Hood of Tippecanoe Middle School; Amelia Campbell, Max Dunaway, Isa Ramos, Levi Baileys, and Ryan Hartke of Tipp City L.T. Ball Intermediate; Abby Hissong of Milton-Union High School; Rhyan Turner of Bradford High School; Ryan Ballou and Natalie Milligan of DeColores Montessori; Francesca Masso-Rivetti and Quinten Muhlenkamp of Greenville High School; Justus Thomas of Tri-Village School; James McClure and Tessa Tyo of Versailles High School; Lauren McFarland of Piqua Catholic ES; Ann Deafenbaugh of Holy Angels; Caroline Heitmeyer, Megan Neumeier, and Jacquie Schemmel of Lehman Catholic High School.

Receiving Excellent ratings were: Tim Andrews of Tippecanoe High School; Sydney Brown, Savy Dean, Nicole Strong, and Emily Von Krosigk of Tipp City L.T. Ball Intermediate; Savannah Phipps and Lisa Sebastian of Bethel Middle School; Matthew Koon of Newton ES; Lauren Zaylskie of Troy High School; Kaliee Brower and Drew Patty of Bradford High School; Anthony Masso-Rivette of DeColores Montessori; Maddie Downing and Landen Fraylick of Tri-Village; Tyler McKee, Mackenzie Wells, Aaron Brautigam, and Brianna Fanaff of Anna High School; Gabe Knapke of Piqua Catholic ES; Alex Gleason, Meaghan McDonald, and Brieanna Werling Lehman Catholic High School.

Additional awards earned: Students receiving recognition for multiple years competing at State Science Day were from Tippecanoe HS — six year awards to Thomas Chaney, Allison Chitwood, Samantha Rowland and a four-year award to Adam Buynak; and from Greenville High School, a four-year award to Francesca Masso-Rivetti.

Upper Miami Valley Science Days provides the opportunity for students, grades 5-12, in Champaign, Darke, Miami and Shelby counties, to complete and present original scientific research. This program is organized and supported by many area schools, teachers, parents, Edison Community College, Urbana University, and a number of businesses, professionals, community organizations and other interested individuals. For additional information, go to the UMVSD website at